RSS

A Fluff Piece

12 Jul

Traveling makes me realize how idiosyncratic I can be. Although traveling itself doesn’t make me anxious, I’m around new people who force my awareness of activities that are subconscious at home.

I can’t imagine having quirks is that uncommon, although the number may be unusual. I’m somewhere above anal retentive but not yet at batshit crazy. Every textbook I’ve read has advised me that unless these quirks obstruct ‘normal’ interaction, it’s not technically a psychosis. Yes, for this medication helps too.

The idiosyncrasies range from strangely pointless to slightly paranoid. To wit:

  • Whoppers may be my favorite candy in the whole entire world, but my favorite Whoppers are the ones where just a little too much moisture got in the malt so the centers are chewy. I’ll buy a box of Whoppers and eat a small nibble out of each one until I find the chewy Whopper.  The streets of cities I visit are littered with Whoppers, each missing a tiny bite.
  • Wherever I am, I must have water, a book, and lip balm. Perhaps in a former life I died of dehydration, boredom, or unmoistened lips.
  • When seated in a large space, I need to be seated in a place where either I can’t be seen or where my back is against the farthest wall and I can see everything. In a perfect world, both.
  • Unless I’m exhausted, I can only fall asleep on my stomach. My left hand must always be pressed against my left hipbone. I figure that if I can still feel it, I’m not fat.
  • When I drink out of glasses, I always lick the edge first. I read somewhere that doing so will keep lipstick from transferring. I don’t wear lipstick but I still lick the edge.
  • The dishes and items in the closet must be organized in ROY G BIV sequence (subordered as necessary).
  • I touch the outside of every plane I fly on.
  • I can’t go to sleep at night unless I have checked three times that every door and window is locked.
  • Everything in my work space must be at right angles.
  • My office, travel bags, vanity area are filled with Ziploc bags, each carefully organizing something: pens, USB cords, barettes. Everything has a place and its place is in a Ziploc bag.
  • I count when I walk — cracks, trees, people wearing red, breaths, steps.  I count in German, French, English.
  • Not so much an idiosyncrasy but a behavior is that I am ridiculously anti-authoritarian. When I realized it and copped to it in my late 20s, apparently I was the only one surprised by the admission.
  • When I travel, all my toiletries must fit on a single washcloth (as illustrated below).
This may or may not be the gratuitous inclusion of a photo. Toiletries organized, clockwise: Hygiene, medications, cosmetics, accessories.

I’m on my way home right now, to my home and home office where I’m around people who don’t know, don’t care, or aren’t aware of my little illustrations of nuttiness – or where the situations don’t ever arise. That’s comfort that’s better than any medicine.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2011 in Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “A Fluff Piece

  1. James Stafford

    July 13, 2011 at 1:29 PM

    Nope, can’t relate.

     
    • Thoughtful Whatnot

      January 16, 2012 at 11:40 PM

      @JS: I figured you may have written the book and I just borrowed a page.

       
  2. Rickster

    July 18, 2011 at 10:00 AM

    I used to hate the popping of my ears on plane rides, but i got over that. However, one time I had an ear infection. Ow. But this post was very entertaining to read. You’re such an organized person. I on the other hand have ridiculously messy rooms, but the interesting thing is, I know where everything is in the pile.

     
    • Thoughtful Whatnot

      January 16, 2012 at 11:40 PM

      @Rickster: My dad is the same way. He office is an unmitigated mess — papers everywhere, stacked in no apparent order. But he can find anything in a matter of moments. Cleanliness and tidyness are not critical if you have your own internal taxonomy for ordering your world!

       
  3. nickelbeck

    July 22, 2011 at 6:48 PM

    I am the same way about sitting in a room. I cant stand people being behind me. It makes me nervous.
    As for the Whoppers, think of it this way: you aren’t eating as much chocolate and fat by tossing the ones you dont like. You are being healthy. 😛

     
    • Thoughtful Whatnot

      January 16, 2012 at 11:39 PM

      @Nickelbeck: So true and that’s not escaped my attention. Perhaps the whole thing with the Whoppers is just portion control. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
